God52 – Week Two (8/1/13)

8 Jan

A new week, and a new challenge. Don’t worry if you’ve only just caught up with this; just start from here. If you did start last week, hopefully you found the experience of practicing radical generosity both challenging and rewarding. I certainly did (you can read my personal reflections on my own blog here).

A little bit of housekeeping – although this started as a little personal project, so many people have joined in that it’s taken on a bit of a life of its own. So my friend and colleague Jamie Cutteridge has agreed both to take the 52 challenges with me, and to help me write and edit this site. From now on you’ll be hearing from both of us, and we’ll be devising most of the challenges together. He’s a good egg – please be nice to him.

This week, I’m going to focus on the central Spiritual Discipline of prayer. Challenge #2 is all about persistent prayer – and so there’s an obvious Biblical reference to draw on, about a well-known widow:

He said: “In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared what people thought. And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ‘Grant me justice against my adversary.’

“For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or care what people think, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice, so that she won’t eventually come and attack me!’”

And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says. And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?” (Luke 18: 2-8)

Luke actually explains the parable in verse 1 to make absolutely sure we get the point. No ambiguity here – Jesus told the story to show us that we should always pray and not give up.

I don’t know about you, but I struggle less with giving up on prayer, and more with giving time to it. My prayers often take the form of a quick-fire list – a few words of praise and thanksgiving, and then a rattled-off series of problems and hopes that I’d like to see positively resolved.

I suffer from a kind of attention deficit syndrome when it comes to the subjects of my prayers. If I’m praying for ten minutes, I might cover ten or even fifteen different areas in that relatively short time. This week’s challenge then, is going to really stretch me:

2: Pray persistently about one thing for three hours this week.

Horrified? I hope not. But you may well feel as challenged as I do. Now, just to clarify, you don’t have to do a continuous three-hour stint – you can break it up into as many chunks as you like over the next seven days. And when I say ‘one thing’, that can be as wide or narrow a subject as you choose, from praying for one individual’s healing, to interceding for your local community. I would suggest though, inspired by the parable, that you choose a situation where you would love to see a change; a miracle even.

Luke 18 gives us one of those ‘how much more’ pictures of God. If this judge, who is unjust, agrees to answer the persistent widow’s plea, how much more does God, who is totally just, love to answer our prayers? Jesus takes the time to spell out this model of persistent prayer, but in truth I rarely practice it. This week, why not join me in exploring why he said what he did. You could see a miraculous result, but perhaps even more excitingly, you get to spend three hours in the presence of God.

If you’d like to write a guest blog on the subject of persistent prayer (we have short deadlines, sorry), please get in touch by clicking here.

15 Responses to “God52 – Week Two (8/1/13)”

  1. mattcurrey January 11, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    Reblogged this on matt's musings .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #God 52 – The Irresistible Resolution « - January 8, 2013

    […] should check out the 2nd Challenge and join in with all of us taking part in God […]

  2. Guest blog: Persistent in prayer by Sophie Slater-Evans | God 52 - January 8, 2013

    […] – we’ve got loads of them lined up this week! Here’s the first to address the week two challenge – three hours of persistent prayer – from youth worker Sophie […]

  3. Guest blog: Annie Carter on prayer, presumption and pragmatism | God 52 - January 10, 2013

    […] week our guest blogs focus on the challenge of persistent prayer. Today, writer Annie Carter provides a brilliant, honest reflection on those areas of life where […]

  4. Clare Gordge on ‘not being anxious about anything’ | God 52 - January 11, 2013

    […] our series of guest blogs on persistent prayer, teacher and youth worker writes honestly about how prayer has helped her to overcome […]

  5. Jon Ashley: Prayer and the chef who cooks ready meals at home | God 52 - January 11, 2013

    […] great guest blog on this week’s challenge topic of persistent prayer. Youth worker Jon Ashley writes on how those in full time ministry make sure they don’t just […]

  6. David Nield: Switching off to pray | God 52 - January 11, 2013

    […] guest blogs have come thick and fast this week – here’s another on the subject of persistent prayer – from technology journalist David […]

  7. on prayer… | Missiome - January 11, 2013

    […] by Martin’s #God52 movement I am going to pray simply in these next few days. I’m going to try and speak out […]

  8. James Dwyer: Often, prayer feels like a wrestle | God 52 - January 12, 2013

    […] week we’ve been inundated with great blogs from people doing the latest God52 challenge on persistent prayer. Here’s another from New Wine’s James Dwyer, explores the story of […]

  9. Laura Haddow: The Impossible three-hour challenge | God 52 - January 12, 2013

    […] we near the end of this week’s challenge – which has proved quite stretching for many of us – Selfharm.co.uk’s Laura […]

  10. What I learned in week two « God 52 - January 14, 2013

    […] was encouraged to read that others got so lost in the practice of prayer that they went way beyond the three hour challenge we set last Tuesday. But I have to be honest, or this whole initiative is meaningless: for me, it was really […]

  11. God 52 – Week Three (15/1/13) « God 52 - January 15, 2013

    […] you’re anything like me you’ll have just about scraped the final few minutes of last week’s three hours of prayer at 11:55pm last night. If you didn’t manage it, don’t feel guilty. Please. Join us in moving […]

  12. James Roberts on a revealing challenge « God 52 - January 18, 2013

    […] about humility. When I first read the challenge I thought to myself: great, a nice easy task. After last week’s failure at praying here was something I was good at. I am naturally an introvert, preferring to stay in the […]

  13. It’s all about the journey… My feelings on God52 | Matt Stewart - March 18, 2013

    […] Week Two: With the previous week’s reflections in mind, I was determined to fully commit to this journey. I prayed to say I really am taking this seriously now God, I can imagine he chuckled to himself at that point This challenge then ended up being about prayer! Boom! Now being honest, I really don’t pray enough, along with many other things that I should practice far more often, so I took this challenge with some caution on first impression. Did I complete the whole 3 hours devoted time in prayer over a particular thing? Honestly I, perhaps stupidly, didn’t time myself, but I probably didn’t. However what I noticed was that all of sudden prayer was really on my mind everywhere! It was as if loads of unfolding situations had an arrow pointing to it and saying “you could pray about that.” All of a sudden my prayer life had become far more spontaneous, almost with a ‘Yeah, lets go with this’ approach and I was really enjoying it! Even in some cases I had no idea if they were actually answered. This was a massive change to what I used to think that it really should be only big and/or pressing things that I should pray about. […]

  14. God 52 – Week Thirty Five (27/8/2013) | God 52 - August 29, 2013

    […] than performing practical acts (for others of us it’s a lot easier). Still, the parable of the persistent widow demonstrates that God is persuaded to act when we petition him in prayer. So this week, […]

Leave a Reply

