Andy Gray on a hard but beautiful journey

21 Jan

Our final guest blog on the subject of humility comes from pastor Andy Gray. This week’s guest blogs have looked at humility from every angle, and in this post, Andy brings us back to the radical humility demanded by Jesus. Check back tomorrow morning for another challenge!

My wife Jodi and I are as a couple being humbled by God at the moment as we get ready to plant a church in Clapham, South London.

During the process of getting things ready for the Church to launch I have experienced failure after failure. I’ve felt completely alone, broken, humiliated and lost hope. All that before even having our first Sunday service. My wife heard from God, got us both praying and fasting and then every thing started falling into place (aka God showed us how things are done).

Paul the apostle called himself a ‘bondservant’, which means to be devoted to another to the disregard of ones own interests. Boy, would I love to feel like I could say that of myself in relation to my commitment to Jesus. Sure I have had moments of it, but I don’t think it could be a key phrase to describe my relationship.

Humility for me has been one of those studies I have often sought to avoid, because every time I have studied it, I have had to change my whole life. It never asks you to change a little thing, and if it does it always leads to massive upheaval later on. The lesson of humility is unavoidable…

‘God is opposed to the proud but the humble He gives His grace to…’  James 4:6 // 1 Peter 5:5

God opposing us sounds scary, but it really is comforting. It says in Psalm 23, He guides us in the path of righteousness for His name sake. He doesn’t just let us veer off course to arrogance and pride, He will oppose us like a road block. He disciplines those he loves; another humbling but beautiful characteristic of God.

The underlying message being, if we don’t bring ourselves to humility – God will, and obedience is greater than sacrifice. Humility and Love are the two distinguishing characteristics we should be known for above everything else.

I have often found when God is trying to change me I do every thing I can to keep busy. I want to encourage us to come to God, ask Him where He wants us to grow in humility, then be still. Take time to listen, then think about how to put it into practice.

‘Love one another as I have loved you, by this all men will know you are my disciples…’ – Jesus

How do you want to be loved?

Now love some one else like that!

Jesus calls us to take up our cross and follow Him. He took up His cross for all of us. He calls us to be like Him and nothing stands out more than a person putting some one else first.

Have fun this week submitting to God and enjoy freaking people out, the look of shock on their faces makes it totally worth it.

Humility can be so much fun, be imaginative, be creative! Change yourself and your world!

Andy Gray is the co-leader of a new church in Clapham called CityHill which launches on feb 17th. Follow their adventures on twitter @CityHill_ or via Facebook Facebook.com/CityHill.UK

Leave a Reply

