Some thoughts on submission, by Tania Vaughan

31 Jul

This week’s challenge is all about submission – but that word might not quite mean what you think (or fear) it means… Here, Tania Vaughan writes about how Peter’s struggle to submit to God, sometimes mirrors her own…

Tania Vaughan2As disciplines go, this is probably the one I find most difficult; giving control over and submitting to God is probably my biggest struggle and I see some of that struggle in the life of Peter.

A refusal of cleansing. In John 13:8 Peter refused Jesus washing His feet, he was refusing the love and service that Jesus wanted to give Him. There are times when I refuse God’s correction, discipline, cleansing or care because I feel I’m not worthy of having His love and grace poured over me. Jesus told Peter that without this act He could have no part with Him and when I refuse to let God in to cleanse me it puts a strain on my relationship with Him.

The fear of getting it wrong. Matthew 14:28-29 is often used as a wonderful example of stepping out in faith but it also reminds me, that sometimes I think that if I take control the it’s less likely to go wrong.  When I see/hear God I step out in faith just like Peter stepped out of the boat, but then thinking I see the plan I start rushing forward without being prepared, I take my eyes off of Jesus and then things start going wrong, like Peter, I start sinking. Submitting isn’t about jumping in feet first, there is a submission in being quiet and still, waiting on God, listening and allowing Him to prepare me for the next step.

A plan that makes no sense. I like to know where I’m going, what I’m doing and every step in between, God doesn’t! God shows the next step, no final destination and no big plan laid out. Sometimes the next step makes no sense whatsoever! Like Peter in Matthew 16:22 I find myself having a word with God about what He thinks He’s doing and pointing out that this next step He seems to be focused on is pointless and unnecessary. When we focus on what makes sense in the here and now, we can miss out on a vital step to something great that God wants to do; we become our own stumbling block.

Stepping forward. At times we need to refuse, we need to fail and to fear, all so that we can learn that actually to truly move forward we have to submit. Submission is not about giving up or giving in, it’s about moving into a deeper relationship and accepting what God wants to give. Peter did all of these things and he learned and he grew and then he went out and fulfilled his God given ministry.

Tania Vaughan is a wife, mother, writer, speaker and “above all else a cherished child of God just trying to be faithful in a mixed up world to the call to share and encourage others in their walk”. Tania blogs at www.taniavaughan.com; follow her on Twitter @TaniaJVaughan 

Leave a Reply

